Category change issue

General discussion about AlegroCart - Post here if you can't find another suitable forum
Post Reply
jonas
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 9:11 am

Category change issue

Post by jonas » Mon Jul 04, 2011 9:53 am

Hi,
I hope someone can help me with an issue changing the category and ad new one!.
When I try this I am receiving message saying :?:

* Category Name:
* Category Name must be between 1 and 32 characters!

I couldn't change or ad any category, Something maybe I missed. Please advice and help what to do?

Installation on hostbig was great and smooth, I will also thingking to use on my other domain on hostcheers.com and hostgator.com, I wonder if anyone also used one of this providers :idea:

User avatar
leo
admin
Posts: 4263
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:27 am
Location: Hungary

Re: Category change issue

Post by leo » Mon Jul 04, 2011 2:30 pm

Can you add products or manufacturers?
So, do you have problems only with adding categories?

I cannot reproduce this error. What were your steps?

PS. Have you installed another language pack as well?

jonas
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2011 9:11 am

Re: Category change issue

Post by jonas » Tue Jul 05, 2011 9:59 am

Thank you for your respond. I did ad one manufacturer as intel. I was succesful for uploading and changing 1 picture.
I have choise of language as spanish but since I counldn't add any categories and any product I just stop and look for help.
I am trying to setup my computer part store. I really appreciated your time.

I received same message also for item number box. It opens and says in red Item number must be 1 to 32.
Do you think I should install the program again? Maybe it is hosting issue cause I couldn't see the htaccess folder
but since I got access for admin and I can see the page, I think I am fine. I even change the admin name as stated
and it is working. Only issue cannot ad or change category or replace with what I have.
Best Regards,

User avatar
Brent
Site Admin
Posts: 4419
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 3:35 pm
Location: Canada eh

Re: Category change issue

Post by Brent » Tue Jul 05, 2011 10:24 am

No, don't install again. You have nothing wrong.
In your category or product, when you try to add or edit, you will see a tab for English and one for Spanish.
You need to make an entry in both tabs for the product name or the category name.
Any time you have more than one language, there are key things that need to be set.
For category, it is the category name. For product, it is the product name.
The warning you receive just means you are missing a required input.

Creater
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:58 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Category change issue

Post by Creater » Wed Aug 10, 2011 6:03 am

I am waiting for Jonas response. What happened now to choose from English and Spanish?

User avatar
Brent
Site Admin
Posts: 4419
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 3:35 pm
Location: Canada eh

Re: Category change issue

Post by Brent » Wed Aug 10, 2011 6:44 am

Are you having a similar problem.

Post Reply